2019 RASA Awards nominees announced

2019 RASA Awards nominees announced

The final list of nominees for the Regional African Sport Awards, which are set to take place on the 25th of May in Windhoek, were announced at the Namibia Sports Commission on Monday.
With the last three editions the awards having taken place in South Africa, the African Union Sport Council this year selected Namibia to play host to the Regional Awards that will see winners form their respective countries battling it out in a tightly competed race.
A total of twelve categories will be contested on the night - of which ten are for the nominees, while the other two categories will look at Country and Confederation of the Year.
The Chief Executive Officer of AUSC Region 5, Stanley Mutoya said that awarding the region's top sportsmen and women shows the region's commitment to help celebrating stars that are recognized beyond their countries' borders.
"All of this nominees for us are already winners given how stringent the selection process from what I have just explain has been and we all wait with bathed breath. I'm sure you will agree until the night of the event when the category winners will be announced and crowned in what is a very prestigious accolade any athlete can receive in this region" Mutoya said.
On his part, the Chairman of AUSC Region 5 Dr. Vetembuavi Vei said it's a great opportunity for Namibia to host RASA and that he is confident Namibia will pull it off.
“I think Namibia will do a good job. Off course South Africa set quite a high standard, but it's a big country we might not have the same amount of resources as we had in South Africa, but I'm quite confident that Namibia will pull it off. You can see the commitment from the Local Organising Committee. They are really trying their level best and they are consulting also with the office in Gaborone, Botswana to ensure that to maintain the same standard of the event" Dr Veii said.
Namibia's Limba Mupetami of The Namibian Sun has been nominated in the Journalist of the Year category, while golden boy Ananias Shikongo has made the list of nominees in the Sportsman of the Year with Disability category.

Journalist of the Year

Tinashe Tirivavi - The Mirror Zimbabwe

Motshidisi Mohono - South Africa

Limba Mupetami - Namibian Sun, Namibia

Sportsman of the Year with Disability

Ndodanzi Jonathan Ntutu - Athletics T12 South Africa

Celestino Elias Antonio - Football Angola

Ananias Shikongo - Athletics T11 Namibia